21

Finally got the time to sit down and think and just rest. I’m finally 21. Actually turning 21 really isn’t such a big thing. I didn’t exactly feel very anxious, or very excited about it. It really just felt like another day in a year. Things are still the same, except on this special day you get extra encouragement and love. Haha if only we make that effort to say affirming words to people everyday, and uplifting them on a normal day!

On Thursday, 15th of June, I woke up to lovely messages and I started my day w a Macs date w my Heavenly Father. I mean like, what better than to spend your day with the Maker 🙂 I was all set and ready for Thursday! Breakfast with Jesus!! And He never disappoints, always shows up with words of gold and love. When I read the devotionals for that day, I was so affirmed and so assured.  Isaiah 62 was on Solid Joys devotionals as I read on the train and for some reason Isaiah 62 seemed really familiar and I realised its the exact same chapter that I was mulling over a few weeks back. This is like confirmation and it says

“You will be a crown of splendour in the Lord’s hand; a royal diadem in the hand of your God… as a bridegroom rejoices over His bride, so will your God rejoice over you” v3,5b

This was in the context of God’s thoughts and heart for Jerusalem but I dare believe that this is also how the Lord sees me and values me. Dare I believe that God loves me a lot, that my inner most core identity should be rooted in being the beloved of God. But of course, each day we also lay down our crowns before the Lord. Haha its always fun like that. Like yes you are royalty in eyes of God but you also gotta be royalty that serves. I remember this quote by Bill Johnson that says, “Rule with the heart of a servant. Serve with a heart of a king” Then, Judith asked me the night before, “What does eternal life mean to you as your turn 21?” I thought about it for awhile and went to sleep.

Guess what John Piper devotionals say,

“ with God the honeymoon never ends. He is infinite in power and wisdom and creativity and love and will see to it that we get more and more beautiful forever and He is infinitely creative to think of new things to do together so that there will be no boredom for the next trillion ages of millenniums.”

Eternity to me is probably the rest of the lifetime that God, in His infinite power, wisdom, creativity, grace, mercy and love will see to it that we get more and more beautiful forever, that we get to partner God together so that there will be no boredom because we will be winning souls till kingdom come.

As I turn 21 with the best and most precious people around, I am convinced to love even more intentionally and see to it that I radiate the love of Christ from within. Not my own efforts that will make me weary and tired but through the grace of God that overflows from within. As I grow a year older, I am aware too, that life is fleeting and humans and myself can be so sinful but where sin abounds, the grace and love of God abounds even more. I will probably be exposed to more ugliness of the world and things might overwhelm me but this is a reminder to self to never get ahead of the plan and will of God. To seek God more earnestly and to hear Him. He’s got so much to say and I thank God each day for new breath. I pray that I can continue to be light for many many others and love well 🙂 sighs these amazing friends make loving so much easier!!!

19143248_10154975117873172_6654109470517866876_o

 

Leave a Reply

